OOC/OT Virus Heads up

From: John Constable (john_at_kript.net)
Date: Wed Dec 31 2003 - 17:05:37 GMT


Hi all.

Just a quick mail, because someone on the list might have a virus, and
not know it. As you might know, I'm the mailing list's admin, which
means I get all the bounced mails, inluding mails sent *to* the list
from addresses that are not members of the list - usually spam.

However, I just received a message that caused me to look a little
deeper. Its hard to tell where these things come from, but the pc that
sent it seems to be p62.246.180.184.tisdip.tiscali.de (which may or may
not mean anything in itself). The mail contained a virus - Sober.c.
You can find more information here;
http://www.vnunet.com/News/1151688
and (for the more techincal) here
http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_100912.htm

Basically, someone has the parlainth list mail address in their outlook
address book, and this virus sent itself to the list while the owner was
unaware. If it is sending a mail to this list it is *definatly* sending
mails to everyone else in the address book.

So, if you are, or speak, German, you use Tiscali as an ISP, or you
think any of this might apply to you, it might be an idea to check you
have the latest version of your antivirus software! Even if you're
reasonably sure, check anyway, as the virus was only discovered just
over a week ago..

I'm happy to be of what help I can, in the time I'm around, if it turns
out someone does have this virus.

cheers all, apologies for bothering you and lets hope its not one of us!

John
-> Mailing List Archive - http://www.kript.net/parlainth/
-> To unsubscribe: send a mail to majordomo_at_teaparty.net
with the body text "unsubscribe parlainth"
-> To see who's on the list: send a mail to majordomo_at_teaparty.net
with the body text "who parlainth"



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.7 : Wed Dec 31 2003 - 17:05:43 GMT